Mary O'Kane AC (Chair)

Published on
1 January 2021

Mary was appointed Chair of Aurora Energy on 29 November 2018. She is a member of Aurora Energy’s Board Appointments and Remuneration Committee and Board Audit, Risk and Compliance Committee.

She is also Chair of the NSW Independent Planning Commission, a company director, and Executive Chairman of O’Kane Associates, a company advising governments and the private sector on innovation, research, education and development. She was NSW Chief Scientist & Engineer from 2008-2018; Vice-Chancellor of the University of Adelaide from 1996-2001 and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at Adelaide from 1994-1996. Before that, she was Dean of Information Sciences and Engineering at the University of Canberra.

Mary has served on several boards and committees in the public and private sectors, especially related to energy, engineering, ICT and research. She is currently chair of the Space Environment Management Cooperative Research Centre Board and the Board of the Institute of Marine and Antarctic Studies at the University of Tasmania. She is also a member of the Board of the Cross River Rail Delivery Authority and of the Board of the Innovative Manufacturing Cooperative Research Centre. She was Chair of the Digital Health Cooperative Research Centre Board, Chair of the Australian Centre for Renewable Energy, Chair of the Development Gateway, a Director of FH Faulding & Co Ltd and was a Member of the Australian Research Council, the Cooperative Research Centres Committee, and the boards of the CSIRO and NICTA. 

Professor O’Kane is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering and an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia.